13.8 C
Monday, May 27, 2024
HomeSportsMost Losses in IPL History 

Most Losses in IPL History 

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of India’s most celebrated sporting events in India and a few cricket-crazy nations. Ten franchises fight it out yearly for the most expensive prize in T20 franchise cricket. World-class players on show and thrilling encounters have made the tournament what it is now—the greatest cricketing show on earth.

Sometimes, teams have had great winning streaks, while a few franchises struggled consistently. This blog will look at those teams that suffered the most losses in IPL history. Such teams have always found fewer takers in IPL betting.  

Teams with Most Defeats in IPL History

Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Lucknow Super Giants are the four franchises with no IPL titles. Apart from LSG, the other franchises have been around since 2008. Unsurprisingly, these three teams have suffered the most losses in IPL history.

Here’s a look at the five franchises that suffered the most defeats in IPL history.

Delhi Capitals – 131

Delhi Capitals are among the most underachievers in IPL history. With 131 defeats, they have suffered the most losses in IPL history. The franchise’s biggest achievement was the runner-up finish four years ago. With Rishabh Pant back, DC fans will hope for a better show by their team in the 2024 season. 

Punjab Kings – 127

The 2014 runners-up have struggled for nearly a decade in the IPL. Since that impressive performance in the 2014 edition, Punjab Kings haven’t seen the playoffs. The Mohali-based franchise’s struggles have continued despite changing captains and bringing in new staff. They have suffered the second-most defeats in the league, with 127 defeats.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru – 124

Royal Challengers Bangalore has had ups and downs in the IPL. They have lost three IPL finals and have had successive seasons where the team came nowhere close to challenging for a playoff spot. They have lost 124 times in the league. The RCB faithful would want their franchise to lift the title before Virat Kohli calls it a day from all forms of cricket. 

Kolkata Knight Riders – 115

The Knight Riders from Kolkata is another franchise with over 100 defeats in the league. The two-time winners have suffered 115 defeats and struggled in the league since their runner-up finish in the 2020 season. If KKR are to make it to the playoffs this season, their overseas players – including Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, etc. – must bring their ‘A’ game this season. 

Mumbai Indians – 108

Mumbai Indians, the five-time champions, are fifth in the list of most defeats in the league. They have suffered 108 defeats in the IPL. After inconsistent performances in the first five IPL seasons, Mumbai Indians’ fortune changed after Rohit Sharma lifted the trophy in 2013. Since then, they have won four more titles and established themselves as a top franchise in the league.

Trending Articles

Recent News

Recent in Investment

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here